Fit to be Square

While rummaging through your drawers and closets I noticed that many of you lack the basic homemaking knowledge to properly store and maintain your linens. You should all be ashamed of yourselves.

How can this be? I’m told Martha Stewart and Oprah command a daily viewing audience of millions. Logically some part of those millions must contain at least some of you. Don’t give me that look, I’ve seen your decorative gourd centerpieces and piles of assigned reading, and yet what do I find while poking through your belongings but fitted sheets shamefully wadded up and abandoned in misshapen heaps!

Did you know that according to the National Assessment of Adult Literacy a staggering 1 in 7 adults can’t read? Shocking, I know, but that’s just the tip of the iceberg. According to a similar study conducted by this blog only Me in Everyone-Else-Apparently can fold a fitted sheet. It’s time I do something about this.

A Haiku For Folding Fitted Sheets:

match both side’s corners
join ends and square up the sheet
fold three long creases

About dadisthenewmom

A Level 3 Stay-At-Home-Dad (Chaotic). Master Kid-smith, Animator, Carpenter, Musician, Swordsman and Philanthropist. His physique is to be admired, his values are to be adopted, his bold vision will come to pass, his stride is crab-like. He is aware the last one isn’t overly favorable. Such is DadisthenewMom.
This entry was posted in Children, Parenting of, Dad, how to be one and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fit to be Square

  1. juli says:

    I love it. I’ve taught as many people who are willing to learn how to fold a fitted sheet since my friend’s mother taught me 25 years ago. Sadly many people aren’t so willing.

  2. jenna says:

    I know you’re not talking about me. I am a fitted sheet artist.

Leave a Reply

