Bedtime Story: Renee Montagne and The Kakapo

Once upon a time there was a little mouse named Renee Montagne. She was a clever and brave little mouse. She made a boat out of an old can of beans and set sail across the sea to have an adventure. She sailed and sailed all by herself and came to a place called Stewart Island. Renee pulled her bean boat onto the beach and there she saw a strange creature. It was as green parrot as big as a turkey.

“Who are you? I’ve never seen any bird like you before” Renee asked the odd bird.

“I’m Boss, the kakapo,” it replied, “and I’ve never seen anything animal like you before either.”

“I’m Renee Montagne. I’m a mouse and I sailed here all by myself to have an adventure,” She told the bird.

“Well, then, let me show you around my island,” said the kakapo. Renee climbed on its back and off they ran. Boss showed her the beach, which was sandy and sunny. They ran by the forest with its trees with fruit and through the stream full of clear water. All over the island they ran seeing the sites and talking and laughing. Eventually they stopped  deep in the forest. Renee heard something moving. All around her more kakapo were coming to see her.

“This is my new friend Renee Montagne,” Boss told the other birds. All the birds sang deep booming songs while Renee danced. All night they danced and sang. Eventually, the sun came up. Boss yawned, “we kakapo sleep during the day.” Renee saw all the birds looked tired and sleepy. She thanked her new friends for a lovely time and tucked each one in using a big leaf as a blanket.

“I’ll come back and see you again,” she told them as they fell asleep. Renee walked back through the forest, across the river, past the trees, and out into the beach. She pulled her bean boat into the water, and sailed away for home.

The End.
P.S.
It did not occur to me that Renee Montagne is a name I hear all day long on public radio, The Spouse had to point this out to me. I thought I was being creative.

About dadisthenewmom

A Level 3 Stay-At-Home-Dad (Chaotic). Master Kid-smith, Animator, Carpenter, Musician, Swordsman and Philanthropist. His physique is to be admired, his values are to be adopted, his bold vision will come to pass, his stride is crab-like. He is aware the last one isn’t overly favorable. Such is DadisthenewMom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

