Are You There Blog? It’s Me, Margaret.

I’ve written no post for many a week. I’m a busy man to be sure, but a month ago I could find time to cram some writing into the internet while rebuilding our roof, repairing our transmission, entertaining heads of state and parenting to the utmost. What changed? Teaching.

I’ve volunteered at a local middle school in the capacity of Digital Animation Teacher (…eacher, …eacher, …eacher…). That was the reverb echoing as I proclaimed my title in a booming Olympian voice. Before the school year started I collated a mighty stack of class notes to deftly fill these kids heads with all the information they’d need to breathe life into their animations. Two to three months was the time I assumed it would take to cover the material, and a week and a half in we’re through it all. What have I learned from this? 1) 8th graders are short super computers with acne, and 2) I love teaching.

I love it mostly because I love talking about things I love. All of a sudden, I have a handful of wee humans who are interested in what im saying. They yearn to know more, and I endeavor to… to… whatever the word is for ” to cure/fill yearning”. Un-yearn? I should mention this class is super early in the morning, so I’m currently lacking the sharp wit I normally use to whittle a post out of the alphabet. We’re going to spend the year making a short film created from their little pure imaginations and my job will be not so much to guide and teach as to document it. Not for them, not for me, but for the world. They’re the Bad News Bears of animators, and I’m like a stay-at-home-dad-animation-student Walter Matthau but without jowls. My group is literally a rag-tag team of misfits who will overcome some anonymously evil team from a much better funded school/animation program with some wacky gimmick that brought them all together early-on in their training. All I know is I’ll be there while it happens, and most likely tell you all about it.

Side note: Although I now teach a bit, I’m still first and foremost a chronicler of The Child’s exploits. Today in the car she saw a street sweeper.

The Child: “Dad, cars poop and pee on the road. It’s a big problem. Those trucks clean it.”

About dadisthenewmom

A Level 3 Stay-At-Home-Dad (Chaotic). Master Kid-smith, Animator, Carpenter, Musician, Swordsman and Philanthropist. His physique is to be admired, his values are to be adopted, his bold vision will come to pass, his stride is crab-like. He is aware the last one isn’t overly favorable. Such is DadisthenewMom.
This entry was posted in Dad, how to be one. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are You There Blog? It’s Me, Margaret.

  1. Ryan says:

    Wow! Sweeper is also a position in soccer. Way to go on your awesome dadness and it’s cool that you’re teaching animation. Happy birthday week!

Leave a Reply

