I’ve Still Got It. Quite A Lot More Than I Thought, It Turns Out.

An important aspect of being a stay-at-home dad, of being there for your kid, is obsessively finding ways to avoid your child. This keeps you sane. You can pull it off in small doses playing “fetch” games or the seeking part of hide/seek, or you can save it all up for Date Night.

The Spouse and I had a Date Night recently to celebrate our weddingversary. In the days leading up to this event I schemed, plotted, calculated and even pondered the proper manner to celebrate. What we ended up doing was having a pleasant dinner, sneaking out of one bad movie into a good one (a dreamy movie, if you catch my drift), and ending the night flipping through the song book at karaoke.

Karaoke is just the type of activity to delight The Spouse, as she has a silvery voice and good taste in music. I tend to karaoke as a spectator sport, quietly judging and humming off-key. Near the end of our night, I decided to embarrass myself for The Spouse’s delight, and sing “Dancing in the Dark.” I discovered that I had not only saved up time to get away from the child, but I had stocked up charm, charisma, tone, and most importantly, the moves. I sang, I grooved, I did that thing where you stand on a chair and slowly tip it over (if that move doesn’t have a name, I’m calling it the “Swoop.”) I positively shone. Afterward we sat, sipped our drinks, enjoyed our each other’s company.

When The Spouse slipped away to line up another tune to perform, a gentleman pulled up a chair. “You were really good, do you come here a lot? Can I get you a drink maybe?” I don’t blame him. I had forgotten to put my ring back on after a day of construction work, and honestly, when I swoop, everyone wants a piece of DadisthenewMom.

About dadisthenewmom

A Level 3 Stay-At-Home-Dad (Chaotic). Master Kid-smith, Animator, Carpenter, Musician, Swordsman and Philanthropist. His physique is to be admired, his values are to be adopted, his bold vision will come to pass, his stride is crab-like. He is aware the last one isn’t overly favorable. Such is DadisthenewMom.
This entry was posted in Dad, how to be one and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’ve Still Got It. Quite A Lot More Than I Thought, It Turns Out.

  1. Ben says:

    You did it wrong — left foot forward swoop summons dudes.

Leave a Reply

