Blog of the Light Brigade

I was shocked to see someone other than a friend or family member comment on a post. Not too shocked. It clearly stood out, as I’ve been at this blog for maybe two weeks and can count its metrics on one hand, no need to use the thumb. This is because this blog has yet to rocket me to popularity or inject me into orbit around planet Easy Money 5, populated by the Opportunitrons, a race of good-looking pan-dimensional beings who would love to read my script for Brick by Brick: Life and Times of the Lego Man.

A click on the comment, a read through her site, another link or two, and I discovered a parenting site with my hometown in the name. I don’t cruise the interwebs for parenting advice, being a man and knowing all the answers already. My interest, however, was piqued to see what was blog-worthy in my city. The site seemed to have lots of guest articles from other parenty bloggy types, trendy black and white shots of moms momming around, lists by moms of good things for moms to do, a place for moms to just, uhhh, be moms. There’s a handful of dad-centric web zones, but that’s far from the norm.

Moms are all well and good. In fact I’ve found them almost essential to the whole having-a-kid-thing; but parenting sites are by default full of crappy mom crap, just as websites for song lyrics are by default hideous to behold. Parenting on the web in general ranges from “moms who have nothing to say” to “moms with loud opinions” with a couple of bits of good writing sprinkled here and there. Yeah, I know, that’s the whole internet for you, but where are all the vacuous, misspelled articles devoid of thought or meaning and written by dads? I know what we’re up against seems like an insurmountable challenge but I’m here to lead you fellas. Why not try this- copy something already written and sign your name to it (don’t worry, this is not only legal on the internet, but encouraged). Or, if you prefer to populate the web with your own half-formed opinions, choose a topic that is sure to get some attention. Some quick research has shown major parenting topics of the day include: vaccines, ADHD, bullies, organic food, scripture. If I could set aside my busy life I could write the great American blog post of our age: “2 Organic Vaccines to Give to Your Child’s Bully: Fighting ADHD According to His Will.”

I’m doing my part to up the percentage, but I’m just one man. One busy man. I’ve got some home construction to do, notes for class, various projects for me to advance science… Also, there is this lady who lives in my house that The Child calls “Mommy.” I should spend more time with her and less on this blog. She’s cute. And she can spell.

About dadisthenewmom

A Level 3 Stay-At-Home-Dad (Chaotic). Master Kid-smith, Animator, Carpenter, Musician, Swordsman and Philanthropist. His physique is to be admired, his values are to be adopted, his bold vision will come to pass, his stride is crab-like. He is aware the last one isn’t overly favorable. Such is DadisthenewMom.
This entry was posted in Children, Parenting of, Dad, how to be one and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blog of the Light Brigade

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Blog of the Light Brigade | Dad is the new Mom -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

